Wednesday, June 15, 2022

The 2021-22 season came to a wonderful conclusion for a pair of RCL sides as the G07 and G03/04 reaching the President’s Cup Final and the latter raising the championship trophy.

The conclusion of the 03/04 title run kicked off with a dramatic semifinal contest at the Final Four against Blackhills FC. Masyn Thielman provided a goal in regulation, but the contest would go to penalties to determine the finalist.

Kayna Doolittle, Kami Ellis and Grace Hammermeister put away their spot kicks in a 3-0 decision with Myann Johansen in net for the squad.

The championship proved to be a full-on celebration as they rolled to a 5-0 victory highlighted by a hat-trick from Jenna Mansfield against HSA Select. Elizabeth Brooks also scored with Ellis providing a goal and two assists in the win. Johansen collected another clean sheet in the result, giving her four in five games as she allowed just one goal in the entire tournament campaign.

Meanwhile, the G2007 RCL ladies advanced to the President’s Cup Final courtesy of a 2-1 victory over Black Hills FC. Avery Bringhurst finished off a nice build-up for the opening goal and pressure from Aubrey Gregory led to her scoring the second for the semifinal win. Katherine Selby was in goal.

Trailing HSA Select in the final, the ladies made it a thriller. With five minutes remaining a corner from Kyrie Hertz found Molly Gross for the equalizer. Unfortunately, heartbreak would fall upon the girls in extra time with HSA Select grabbing the winner.


Leave a Comment